Overview
    Identifiers
    Inventory Number
    2531CC10
    Site Name
    24 Kellar Road, Barberton
    Site Category
    Record Administration
    Author
    clinton.jackson
    Last modified
    Thursday, May 2, 2024 - 18:49
      Location
      Location
      Mapping
      -25.793862, 31.048708
      Mpumalanga
      • Ehlanzeni
      • City of Mbombela
      Grading
      Grading
      Grade II
      Grading Date
      GradingComment

      Grading by:

      Statement of Significance

      The wood-and-iron house was built in 1887 by Samuel Todd who was the grandfather of the present owner, Mr A.L. Truter. In the early days people in Barberton got their water from a well on the stand where the house is situated. There is still a military
      fence from the Second Anglo-Boer War days.

      Samuel Todd played an important role in the history of Barberton. He was the first person to grow fruit in the Lowveld and to
      import lychees to South Africa.

      Declaration
      DeclarationName
      Declaration Type
      Declaration Description

      The wood-and-iron house was built in 1887 by Samuel Todd who was the grandfather of the present owner, Mr A.L. Truter. In the early days people in Barberton got their water from a well on the stand where the house is situated. There is still a military fence from the Second Anglo-Boer War days. Samuel Todd played an important role in the history of Barberton. He was the first person to grow fruit in the Lowveld and t o import lychees to South Africa.The single storeyed Victorian style wood-and-iron house consists of a verandah and porch, two bedrooms as well as an outside kitchen. One of the bedrooms has a sky-light. The house also has three shooting plates from a blockhouse which was situated on the hill behind the house. Additionally, there is still an outside toilet with a bucket system. Some of the inside walls are over half a metre thick which would suggest that these were internal division walls constructed of large sun-dried bricks. The original fabric of the house is largely intact, including the original old fashioned light fittings.

      Gazette Date
      Gazette Number
      17457
      Gazette Notice Status
      Notice Date
      Notice Number
      1584
      Declared by (Organisation/Heritage Authority)
      Deeds Number
      T17492/1993
      Archive Status
      National monument
      9-2-203-19.pdf (1020.27 KB)
      Media
      Images uploaded directly to Site